2014 Pulitzer winners announced

Posted by: Jake Davidson 1 year, 3 months ago

(1 comment)

The Pulitzer Committee announced the winners of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize awards for journalism and letters, drama, and music. The Pulitzer has been given out by Columbia University since its inception in 1917. See the winners below.

Journalism Awards

Public Service

The Guardian US

The Washington Post

Breaking News Reporting

Staff of The Boston Globe

Investigative Reporting

Chris Hamby of The Center for Public Integrity, Washington, DC 

Explanatory Reporting

Eli Saslow of The Washington Post

Local Reporting

Will Hobson and Michael LaForgia ofTampa Bay Times

National Reporting

David Philipps of The Gazette, Colorado Springs, CO

International Reporting

Jason Szep and Andrew R.C. Marshall of Reuters

Feature Writing

No award 


Stephen Henderson of Detroit Free Press


Inga Saffron of The Philadelphia Inquirer

Editorial Writing

Editorial Staff of The Oregonian, Portland

Editorial Cartooning

Kevin Siers of The Charlotte Observer 

Breaking News Photography

Tyler Hicks of The New York Times

Feature Photography

Josh Haner of The New York Times


Letters, Drama, and Music 


The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt (Little, Brown)


The Flick by Annie Baker


The Internal Enemy: Slavery and War in Virginia, 1772-1832 by Alan Taylor (W.W. Norton) 

Biography or Autobiography

Margaret Fuller: A New American Lifeby Megan Marshall (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)


3 Sections by Vijay Seshadri (Graywolf Press)

General Nonfiction

Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation by Dan Fagin (Bantam Books)


Become Ocean by John Luther Adams (Taiga Press/Theodore Front Musical Literature)

 [Photo: The J-school's World Room, where the awards were announced, via Cryptome]


  • lionsucks 1 year, 3 months ago
    Points: 0

    Did you take this photo with a potato?

    Link / Reply

New Comment

required (not published)